.

Dedham Selectmen to Review Town Manager Search Wednesday

Officials plan to interview two groups regarding the search to replace former Town Administrator Bill Keegan.

Dedham Town Hall. Credit: File photo.
Dedham Town Hall. Credit: File photo.

The Dedham Board of Selectmen on Wednesday night will speak with two consulting groups regarding the search for a new Town Manager. 

Officials will speak with representatives from the Edward J. Collins Center for Public Management as well as with the MMA Consulting Group Wednesday in regards to the search. 

Former Town Administrator Bill Keegan wrapped up his career in Dedham on Friday, April 11 and began his role as Foxborough's Town Manager on Tuesday, April 22. 

"'I'm looking forward to it," Keegan told Dedham Patch recently. "There's a lot to do. the town has not had an administrator in place for the past nine months or so. The present acting town manager has done a very decent job of keeping things together. I'll be working with him very closely over the next couple of months."

Keegan also reflected on the recent ballot question in this year's Town Election that looked to change the title of Town Administrator to Town Manager, a measure that voters supported. 

"I'm really pleased to see that happened," he said. "I think that's the next appropriate evolution of government and I think Dedham has risen to that level of leadership. By doing that, it just allowed us to do things a little more officially in some cases, and we've really been able to put Dedham on the map."

Former Assistant Town Administrator Nancy Baker is currently serving as Dedham's Interim Town Manager while the search proceeds. 

Below is the full agenda for the meeting, which begins at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 23 in the O'Brien Meeting Room at Dedham Town Hall. 

Board of Selectmen Agenda: April 23, 2014

  • 7:30 p.m. Pledge of Allegiance
  • 7:35 p.m. Dedham Citizens-Open Discussion
  • 7:45 p.m. Interview with Edward J. Collins Center for Public Management, Re: Town Manager Search
  • 8 p.m. Discussion/Update regarding the proposed Municipal Campus
  • 8:30 p.m. Discussion with Town Engineer Jason Mammone, Re: Private Inflow Program (vote to approve sewer bill input)
  • 8:45 p.m. Discussion with Town Counsel, Attorney Lauren Goldberg, Re: Approved charter changes
  • 9 p.m. Interview with MMA Consulting Group, Re: Town Manager Search
Town Administrator's Report 

Action by the Board: Approval of Selectmen's Meeting Minutes; Drainlayer's Permits; Approval of Gifts; Request from the Church of the Good Shepherd for (2) One-Day Common Victuallers Licenses (5/31/14 & 6/14/14); Request for a One-Day Liquor License from the First Church (8/30/14); Request from Greg Jundanian "Ride for Food" (9/21/14) Action Item List 

OLD/NEW BUSINESS 

EXECUTIVE SESSION — Collective Bargaining 

Dan O'Neil April 23, 2014 at 11:52 AM
Not to beat a Dead Horse but we have an HR Director. Why are we paying consultants to do a job she is more than qualified to do. This is what I referred to many times during my campaign as wasted spending.
Chris Masalsky April 23, 2014 at 01:05 PM
Not to beat a dead horse, but the last time you mentioned this I offered the opinion that an HR director for a $100M operation would be foolish to undertake a search for that operation's CEO on his/her own. A good HR director knows when to activate consultants who can more than make back their fees by conducting an effective, efficient search that results in an ideal candidate. Imagine the money wasted by not finding the right talent, having an extended search (with the office vacant), and potentially hiring a less-than-ideal candidate? Spend the money up front and reap the rewards in the long term, and the HR director should spend their time vetting and evaluating the perfect search firm rather than posting ads and doing dozens of first-level phone screenings.
Dan O'Neil April 24, 2014 at 06:41 AM
Chris I do this for a living and for a much bigger entity then Dedham. The woman is more than qualified to post the position in multiple sites and collect resumes. This is a waste of money. You have a job and I'm sure your good at it. Would you want a consultant giving insight on a job you are already doing and qualified to do? Food for thought. You can't and won't sway me. It's a waste of money. As a town admin Keegan should not have been allowed to make that hire. I still stand by that but it's done she's here we are paying her. Let her do the job we are paying her to do.
Chris Masalsky April 24, 2014 at 11:01 AM
Glad to see that you "won't be swayed" - always good to hear from someone who refuses to entertain even the prospect of learning or changing their opinion. FYI, in my line of work we use consultants to help us improve, because we're not conceited enough to believe that we have all the answers. And we have a head of HR who uses search firms to find the right people for top positions, because the investment is well worth it. As someone in HR I would hope you would understand that the only thing worse than not finding the right person for an executive role within a reasonable timeframe is hiring the wrong person - the long-term financial consequences are devastating. And also I would hope you would understand that these roles are best filled by exploiting communication pathways and relationships that extend far beyond posting the position on job/career boards.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »